New series FX’s The Bear and Apple TV Plus’ Severance, AMC’s concluded Better Call Saul and Fox’s veteran animated series The Simpsons are this year’s shows most nominated by the Writers Guild Association Awards with three nominations each.

Nominated for best drama series are:

– Disney Plus’ Andor, written by Dan and Tony Gilroy, Stephen Schiff and Beau Willimon;

– AMC’s Better Call Saul, written by Ann Cherkis, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Ariel Levine, Thomas Schnauz, Gordon Smith and Alison Tatlock;

– Netflix’s The Crown, written by Peter Morgan;

– Apple TV Plus’ Severance, Written by Chris Black, Andrew Colville, Kari Drake, Dan Erickson, Mark Friedman, Helen Leigh, Anna Moench and Amanda Overton;

– and Showtime’s Yellowjackets, written by Cameron Brent Johnson, Katherine Kearns, Jonathan Lisco, Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, Liz Phang, Ameni Rozsa, Sarah L. Thompson and Chantelle M. Wells.

On the comedy side, nominees are:

– ABC’s Abbott Elementary, which is just coming off of three Golden Globes, written by series star and executive producer Quinta Brunson, Ava Coleman, Riley Dufurrena, Justin Halpern, Joya McCrory, Morgan Murphy, Brittani Nichols, Kate Peterman, Brian Rubenstein, Patrick Schumacker, Justin Tan, Jordan Temple and Garrett Werner;

– HBO and HBO Max’s Barry, written by Emma Barrie, Alec Berg, Duffy Boudreau, series star Bill Hader, Emily Heller, Nicky Hirschhorn, Jason Kim and Liz Sarnoff;

– FX’s The Bear, written by Karen Joseph Adcock, Joanna Calo, Rene Gube, Sofya Levitsky-Weitz, Alex O’Keefe, Catherine Schetina and Christopher Storer;

– HBO Max’s Hacks written by Lucia Aniello, Jessica Chaffin, Paul W. Downs, Ariel Karlin, Andrew Law, Joe Mande, Aisha Muharrar, Pat Regan, Samantha Riley and Jen Statsky;

– and Hulu’s Only Murders in the Building, written by Matteo Borghese, Rachel Burger, Kirker Butler, Valentina Garza, Madeleine George, Joshua Allen Griffith, John Hoffman, Noah Levine, Stephen Markley, Kristin Newman, Ben Philippe, Ben Smith and Rob Turbovsky.

Nominated for best new series are previously mentioned Abbott Elementary, Andor, The Bear and Severance. Those shows are joined by Apple TV Plus’ Bad Sisters, written by Brett Baer, Dave Finkel and Sharon Horgan, who also stars.

The limited-series category was dominated by Hulu and HBO. Nominees include:

– Hulu’s The Dropout, written by Hilary Bettis, Liz Hannah, Liz Heldens, Dan LeFranc, Sofya Levitsky-Weitz, Matt Lutsky, Elizabeth Meriwether and Wei-Ning Yu;

– Hulu and FX’s Fleishman Is In Trouble, written by Taffy Brodesser-Akner, who also wrote the novel on which the show is based, Cindy Chupack, Allison P. Davis, Mike Goldbach and Boo Killebrew;

– Hulu’s Pam & Tommy, written by Brooke Baker, Matthew Bass, Theodore Bressman, D.V. DeVincentis, Sarah Gubbins and Robert Siegel;

– HBO/HBO Max’s The Staircase, written by Aisha Bhoori, Antonio Campos, Maggie Cohn, Aja Gabel, Emily Kaczmarek, Craig Shilowich and Sebastian Silva;

– and HBO/HBO Max’s The White Lotus, written by Mike White.

The Writers Guild also nominates episodes of shows for awards. Among dramas, nominated shows include Netflix’s Ozark, Paramount Plus’ The Good Fight, Better Call Saul, Bad Sisters and Severance. Comedies nominated for best-written episodes include Netflix’s Grace and Frankie, HBO/HBO Max’s Julia and Hacks, and FX’s What We Do in the Shadows, The Bear and Reservation Dogs. Episodes of animated series Fox’s The Simpsons and Bob’s Burgers, Adult Swim’s Tuca & Bertie, Prime Video’s Undone also were nominated with The Simpsons receiving three of the nods in this category.

Nominated comedy and variety talk series are TBS’ canceled Full Frontal with Samantha Bee; Comedy Central’s Hell of a Week with Charlamagne The God and Stephen Colbert Presents Tooning Out the News; ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live!; NBC’s Late Night with Seth Meyers; HBO/HBO Max’s Last Week Tonight with John Oliver; and Apple TV Plus’ The Problem with Jon Stewart.

Nominees on the comedy/variety sketch series side are Paramount Plus’ Inside Amy Schumer, HBO/HBO Max’s Pause with Sam Jay; and NBC’s perennial nominee Saturday Night Live.

All of this year’s nominees can be seen here.

The winners will be announced Sunday, March 5 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Tags: abbott elementary abc apple tv plus fx hbo hbo max hulu severance the bear wga awards

  Save as PDF