One month before the 74th annual Primetime Emmys, the Television Critics Association (TCA) proved that linear television remains in the hunt, giving major awards to ABC’s Abbott Elementary, NBC’s This Is Us and CBS’ The Amazing Race.

Abbott Elementary, which scored seven Primetime Emmy nominations, won four of TCA’s major awards: individual achievement in comedy for series star, creator, writer and producer Quinta Brunson, as well as outstanding achievement in comedy, outstanding new program and program of the year.

Come Emmy time, Abbott Elementary will face off against Apple’s comedy favorite, Ted Lasso, which tied HBO’s White Lotus for the second-most Emmy nominations this year with 20 each. HBO Max’s Hacks also did well with Emmy voters, snagging 17 nominations.

RELATED: ‘Abbott Elementary’ to Dis-Orient Fans at San Diego Comic Con

The TCA also awarded individual achievement in drama to This Is Us’ Mandy Moore, who played matriarch Rebecca Pearson at many ages throughout the series’ six-season run. The Amazing Race shared outstanding achievement in reality with HBO’s ballroom competition series, Legendary.

HBO’s Succession, which is the most-nominated show at this year’s Emmys with 25, won outstanding achievement in drama, a feat it’s expected to repeat come September 12. Hulu’s Dopesick, starring Michael Keaton, was named outstanding movie, miniseries or special. Netflix’s I Think You Should Leave With Tim Robinson won outstanding achievement in variety, talk or sketch.

Netflix also grabbed another award with its second consecutive win for outstanding achievement in youth programming for The Baby-Sitter’s Club. Disney Plus took home the award for outstanding achievement in news and information for rock documentary The Beatles: Get Back, executive produced by Peter Jackson.

CBS’ I Love Lucy was given the association’s Heritage Award, while Steve Martin and Ted Danson tied for the association’s career achievement award. Martin, a Saturday Night Live mainstay, is currently writing, executive producing and starring in Hulu’s Only Murders in the Building, while Danson just wrapped NBC’s Mr. Mayor and has had a long career in TV, starring in such series as Cheers, Becker, The Good Place, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and many more.

The TCA handed out the awards virtually on Saturday, August 6, in a ceremony that was supposed to take place in person. That did not happen after TCA’s planned press tour at the Langham Huntington hotel in Pasadena, Calif., was canceled at the last minute due to COVID surging in Los Angeles.

“Tonight was supposed to be our first time celebrating the TCA Awards in-person since 2019—unfortunately, it was not meant to be,” said Melanie McFarland, TCA president and TV critic for Salon, in a statement. “Despite this development, we are proud to announce this year’s roster of talented TCA Award winners. Each of them played a vital role in making the 2021-2022 television season one of the best in recent memory. We sincerely congratulate all of our honorees, and we look forward to gathering in person once again in 2023.”

Tags: abbott elementary abc hbo hbo max legendary succession tca awards

  Save as PDF