On February 28, 1993, the U.S. Bureau for Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms raided the Branch Davidian complex, led by David Koresh, searching for mass stores of weapons. Four federal agents died, 12 were wounded and six Davidians reportedly died.

That did not end the conflict, however, with the ATF and the FBI remaining outside the complex for the next 51 days, until finally throwing in tear gas in the early morning of April 19, 1993. By the end of that day, the complex had been destroyed in a raging fire and at least 80 Davidians, including Koresh, were dead.

Showtime covered that story in its limited series Waco, starring Taylor Kitsch as David Koresh and Michael Shannon as FBI hostage negotiator Gary Noesnor, which premiered in January 2018. Now, it returns to the topic in Waco: The Aftermath, exploring both the rise of a young Vernon Howell, later David Koresh, as well as how the events of Waco led to Timothy McVeigh’s bombing in Oklahoma City exactly two years later, the rise of ultra-right-wing militias across the country, and the storming of the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021.

Waco: The Aftermath stars Shannon and Kitsch reprising their roles as well as John Leguizamo, who received an Emmy for this role, Emmy nominee Giovanni Ribisi, David Costabile (Billions), J. Smith Cameron (Succession), John Hoogenakker (Dopesick), Keean Johnson (Euphoria), and Abbey Lee (Lovecraft Country). Also reprising roles from Waco are Shea Whigham (Boardwalk Empire), who returns as Mitch Decker, Noesner’s colleague in the FBI who managed the situation at Waco leading up to the tragic siege and Annika Marks (Waco) as Kathy Schroeder, one of the surviving Branch Davidians who was called upon to testify.

Also starring are Michael Vincent Berry (Better Call Saul), Alex Breaux (See), Michael Cassidy (The O.C.), Gary Cole (Veep),; Nicholas Kolev (NCIS: Los Angeles), Michael Luwoye (Emancipation), Kieran Mulcare (Jessica Jones), Kali Rocha (Liv and Maddie) and Sasheer Zamata (Saturday Night Live).

MTV Entertainment Studios Brand Creative Team produced the above trailer for the limited series in house.

“The significance of these events was not taken lightly by our creative team. Before we drew a single sketch, we wanted to understand what happened and why,” said MTV’s team in a statement. “We wanted to allude to the tragedy that followed Waco without giving it all away.

“The tattered American flag became a visual metaphor for the story, representing how America was coming apart at the seams, and featuring our lead, Michael Shannon, playing FBI agent, Gary Noesner, standing alone in the ashes, grief-stricken and in despair.

“We’ve spent months with this campaign and subject matter really examining the fractured faith in institutions and adjacent significant themes. As a team we knew how important it would be to really capture the essence of these tragedies and create intrigue around the full story in a respectful and diplomatic way.”

Returning creators and showrunners Drew Dowdle and John Erick Dowdle direct all five episodes and executive produce the limited series alongside Shannon, Kitsch, Andrew Gettens and Lauren Mackenzie. Also serving as executive producers are David C. Glasser, David Hutkin, Bob Yari and Ron Burkle of 101 Studios, as well as Gary Barber of Spyglass.

Waco: The Aftermath, produced by MTV Entertainment Studios and 101 Studios, is a five-episode limited series that will debut on streaming and on demand on Friday, April 14 and on Showtime at 10 p.m. on Sunday, April 16.

Key art for Showtime's 'Waco: The Aftermath'
Key art for Showtime’s ‘Waco: The Aftermath’


Client: MTV Entertainment Studios

Design: MTV Entertainment Studios Brand Creative

SVP, Brand Creative: Thomas Berger

VP, Art: Angelina Battista

Senior Design Director: Brandon Lori

Senior Art Director: Paulina Niewinska

Senior Art Director: Yenting Chuang

VP, Motion Design: Kazuomi Iwai

Motion Designer: Victoria Fernandez


SVP, Brand Creative: Deva Newman

VP, Creative Director: Michael Davidowitz

Creative Director: Rachel Salazar

Senior Writer/Producer: Jessica Leaver

Writer: Zachariah Smith

Writer/Producer: Elisabeth Erickson

Editor/Producer: David Randall

Additional Editors: Hannah Beal and Nick Bouck


Senior Director of Production: Jennifer McComb

Senior Producer: Trisha Novy

Senior Producer: Ian Kahn

Design Producer: Alexandra Jacoby


Photographer: James Minchin

Key Art Agency: Lindeman & Associates

A/V Agency: Ultrabland

Tags: mtv entertainment studios showtime networks waco: the aftermath

  Save as PDF