The pandemic lingers on but awards season is kicking into full gear, and even though everything remains virtual, never have nominations felt more welcome. On Wednesday, the Writers Guild announced its nominations while SAG released their picks on Thursday.

As the name indicates, the Writers Guild Awards honor the best writing across a wide variety of categories, including best drama series, episodic drama and the same in comedy. The Writers Guild also honors original and adapted longform, daytime dramas, children’s programming and more.

Winners of the Writers Guild Awards will be announced at a virtual (of course) ceremony on Sunday, March 21.

Nominations for drama series are AMC’s Better Call Saul, Amazon’s The Boys, Netflix’s The Crown and Ozark, and Disney Plus’ The Mandalorian.

Nominations for comedy series are HBO’s Curb Your Enthusiasm, Hulu’s The Great, Hulu’s Pen15, Apple TV Plus’ Ted Lasso and FX’s What We Do in the Shadows.

The Writers Guild also gives an award for new series and the nominees in this category are FX’s Dave, HBO Max’s The Flight Attendant, The Great, HBO’s Lovecraft Country and Ted Lasso.

Nominations for comedy and variety talk series are Showtime’s Desus & Mero, TBS’ Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, HBO’s Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, NBC’s Late Night with Seth Meyers and CBS’ The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.

For a full list of nominees, including the writers of each nominated piece of content, go here.

Emily in Paris’ Lily Collins, just nominated for a Golden Globe, and Snowpiercer’s Daveed Diggs, who SAG nominated for his role as Lafayette and Jefferson in Hamilton, announced SAG’s nominations on Thursday via Instagram Live. SAG will crown its winners on Sunday, April 4 in a live broadcast on TNT and TBS at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.

Among drama series, the nominated casts are: AMC’s Better Call Saul; Netflix’s Bridgerton, which was ignored by the Golden Globes; Netflix’s The Crown; HBO’s Lovecraft Country; and Netflix’s Ozark.

The Crown and Ozark split the nominations for best female performance in a drama between them, with The Crown’s Olivia Colman, Emma Corrin and Helena Bonham Carter all nominated, while Ozark’s Laura Linney and Julia Garner took the other two nominations in that category.

The men’s field was from a more diverse group of series, with Better Call Saul’s Bob Odenkirk, Bridgerton’s Rege-Jean Page, Ozark’s Jason Bateman, This Is Us’ Sterling K. Brown and The Crown’s Josh O’Connor all nominated for outstanding performance by a male actor in a drama series.

Nominated TV comedy casts are Netflix’s Dead to Me, HBO Max’s The Flight Attendant, Hulu’s The Great, Pop’s Schitt’s Creek and Apple TV Plus’ Ted Lasso.

Nominated as outstanding male actor in a comedy series are The Great’s Nicholas Hoult, Schitt’s Creek’s Eugene and Dan Levy, Ted Lasso’s Jason Sudeikis, and Ramy’s Ramy Youssef.

For the women, the nominations are Dead to Me’s Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini, The Flight Attendant’s Kaley Cuoco, and Schitt’s Creek’s Catherine O’Hara and Annie Murphy.

To see all of the nominations, including for theatricals, go here.

Tags: amazon amazon prime video amc apple tv plus disney plus fx hbo hbo max hulu netflix writers guild awards writers guild of america

  Save as PDF