You might be having a cool summer thus far but Freeform is having a Cruel Summer with the season-two return of its young-adult summer hit on Monday evening.

June tends to be a time of reality series and game shows – think NBC’s America’s Got Talent or Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance – but in the age of the constant premiere, this month also sees some big shows return, including Netflix’s Black Mirror, which comes back for season six on Thursday, June 15; Starz’ Outlander, which returns for the first half of its seventh season on Friday, June 16; and FX’s critical darling The Bear, which gets cooking on Thursday, June 22.

Also returning this month are FXX’s It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia with its season-16 debut on Wednesday, June 7; season three of HBO’s The Righteous Gemstones – about a family of evangelical shysters – on Sunday, June 18; and part one of the third season of Netflix’s The Witcher, the last with Henry Cavill in the starring role.

June also sees the launch of several spinoffs, including The Walking Dead: Dead City – featuring Maggie (Lauren Cohan) and Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) – also on Sunday, June 18; the first Marvel series in a while – Secret Invasion, starring Samuel L. Jackson reprising his role as Nick Fury; and the return of Max’s Sex and the City sequel, And Just Like That, on Thursday, June 22.

So, if summer isn’t sunny enough for you so far, feel free to stay indoors – there’s plenty to watch.

Here’s everything Brief is checking out this month:

Monday, June 5: Freeform’s Cruel Summer (season two premiere)

Wednesday, June 7: FXX’s It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (season 16 premiere)

Thursday, June 8: Netflix’s Never Have I Ever (fourth and final season premiere)

Monday, June 12: Apple TV Plus’ The Afterparty (season two premiere)

Thursday, June 15: Netflix’s Black Mirror (season six trailer)

Friday, June 16: Starz’ Outlander (season 7A premiere)

Sunday, June 18: AMC’s The Walking Dead: Dead City (series premiere)

RELATED: Maggie and Negan are Back in ‘Walking Dead: Dead City’

Sunday, June 18: HBO’s The Righteous Gemstones (season three premiere)

Wednesday, June 21: Disney Plus’ Marvel’s Secret Invasion (limited series premiere)

Thursday, June 22: FX’s The Bear (season two premiere)

Thursday, June 22: Max’s And Just Like That (season two premiere)

Wednesday, June 28: Apple TV Plus’ Hijack (series premiere)

Thursday, June 29: Netflix’s The Witcher (part one of season three premiere)

Friday, June 30: Prime Video’s Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan (fourth and final season premiere)

[Images of Disney Plus’ ‘Marvel’s Secret Invasion’ courtesy of Disney Plus]

Tags: tv calendar wbiw

  Save as PDF