After months of teasers, Twitter threads, and comprehensive brand spots, Disney+ has arrived to the streaming wars as the exclusive home of content from Marvel, Star Wars, Pixar, Disney and National Geographic.

At $6.99/month or $69.99/year, the streaming service, largely dubbed as Netflix’s biggest competitor, will launch with 10 new, original series and movies. Among those are:

The Mandalorian

The first live-action series set in the Star Wars universe.

RELATED: Bounty Hunting’s a Complicated Profession in ‘The Mandalorian’

Forky Asks a Question

Series derives from Toy Story 4, featuring the franchises’ newest DIY character, Forky.

RELATED: Everything Pixar Launching with Disney+

Lady and the Tramp

Disney’s latest live-action film adaptation, based on the 1955 classic film about two dogs and one unexpected adventure.

Disney+ will also be home to SparkShorts, the Pixar Animation Studios short film series designed to explore new storytelling techniques from budding animators.

That’s in addition to hundreds of classic films from all five brands, ranging from Star Wars: Return of the Jedi to The Incredibles, Bambi, Who Framed Roger Rabbit and many more.

Notably, some key titles will be missing at launch from all five brands; however, the streaming service is continuously announcing new additions.

On Nov. 11, just one day prior to launch, the streaming service published a Twitter thread with newly announced Marvel titles that will be available at launch, such as Captain Marvel, Captain America: Civil War, and a new original series, Expanding the Universe. There’s also plenty of content expected to arrive within year one, as films premiere in theaters and licensing deals expire.

RELATED: Everything Marvel Launching with Disney+

Disney+ will be available on iOS, Apple TV (tvOS), Google Chromecast, Android, Android TV, PlayStation 4, Roku, Xbox One, and Amazon Fire TV devices at launch.

[Cover photos courtesy of Disney].

Tags: disney+ streaming wars

  Save as PDF