Fuse Media is continuing its Future History franchise by celebrating Asian Pacific History Month throughout May, spotlighting its new class through short-form videos air on Fuse’s digital and social platforms as well as on Fuse’s and Fuse Music’s linear channels.

This year’s Future Asian Pacific History class is:

—Singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Dominic Fike (video above). From Soundcloud to a major label bidding war, the release of his genre-crossing album “What Could Possibly Go Wrong?” made this Filipino-African-American artist a breakout star.

—Sex therapist, social worker and educator Sonalee Rashatwar lives and advocates a mantra of radical self-love. As a bisexual, nonbinary Indian American, she uses her voice to challenge to racism, misogyny, size-ism and all the other ‘isms’ that affect people’s view of their self-worth.

—Third-generation Chinese-American, writer and comedian Kristina Wong is driving social change through humor. Wong blurs the line between artist and activist, using her stage to bring much needed attention to social issues such as homelessness, mental health and anti-Asian racism.

—Born and raised in Queens as the daughter of Taiwanese immigrants, Grace Meng is New York’s first and only Asian-American member of Congress. She recently proposed the “Covid-19 Hate Crimes Act,” which seeks to combat the rise in anti-Asian racism and violence.

Since January 2016, Fuse Media’s cross-platform Future History series has been celebrating positive, proactive and emerging leaders and stories.

In 2020, this franchise expanded to include an annual “Future History Class” made up of individuals who are driving positive change so that their impact will be talked about in the years to come.

Future History alumni to date have been artists, advocates, activists, business professionals, entertainers, influencers, politicians and more, including the 2021 Future Black History makers Polo G, Sean Williams, Elizabeth Acevedo and Freddie Figgers; Future Women’s History makers Chloe x Halle, Paola Ramos, Kim Ng and Cori Bush; Future Asian Pacific History makers Dominic Fike, Sonalee Rashatwar, Kristina Wong and Grace Meng.

Later this year, Fuse will turn the spotlight on Future LGTBQ, Middle Eastern (being honored for the first time in 2021), and Hispanic History makers.

2020 honorees were Grammy-winner Megan Thee Stallion, Jaboukie Young-White, Rich Paul and Brittany K. Barnett & MiAngel Cody (Future Black History); Hayley Kiyoko, Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Angelica Ross and Chanel Miller (Future Women’s History); Jay Park, Wendy Nguyen, Varshini Prakash and Raveena (Future Asian Pacific History); Kevin Abstract, Tommy Dorfman, Emma Gonzalez and Chella Man (Future LGBTQ History); and Amara La Negra, Joanna Hausmann, Daphne Frias and Rep. Alma Hernandez (Future Hispanic History).

Tags: fuse media future history

  Save as PDF