Just 12 hours after the first 2020 Democratic debates, the creators of Showtime’s Our Cartoon President released the fully animated cold open that will accompany the show’s Sunday, June 30 episode. The entire sequence was written, recorded and animated overnight on Thursday.

The cold open includes animated versions of all five NBC/MSNBC moderators—Lester Holt, Savannah Guthrie, José Díaz-Balart, Chuck Todd and Rachel Maddow—as well as of all of the Democratic candidates—including Bernie Sanders, Joe Biden, Kamala Harris, Elizabeth Warren, Beto O’Rourke, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg and Amy Klobuchar.

“Let’s meet the candidates,” says cartoon Lester Holt as he opens the debate. “Audience, please withhold your ‘is this the best we can do?’ until the end.”

Our Cartoon President comes from executive producer Stephen Colbert, Chris Licht and showrunner R.J. Fried. The series takes an ongoing look into the Trump presidency, animation-style.

Tags: animation our cartoon president showtime

  Save as PDF